Get involved



Get involved



Why

Who & What

Expertise
Einstein Center Climate Change

Press / Contacts       Team       YouTube

Press / Contacts

Team

We are a committed and capable research partner with expertise in all aspects of climate change mitigation and adaptation.
→ Why

We connect research expertise and innovative thinking to develop solutions together with politics, business, and civil society.
→ Who & What

We engage in integrated research on society, technology, nature, and urban and rural spaces.
→ Expertise

News

Why

The Climate Change Center Berlin Brandenburg envisions itself as a transdisciplinary center for research and knowledge transfer. Together with representatives from politics, business, and civil society, we are working to deliver the climate targets defined in the Paris Agreement.

Rethinking climate research—with knowledge transfer and a change of perspective

The risks of exceeding planetary boundaries have already been probed scientifically for decades. But there is still a dearth of the kind of comprehensive research and innovation that is needed to develop systematic solutions to protect our planet and respond to the challenges our global society faces and deliver these solutions at regional level. The Climate Change Center Berlin Brandenburg intends to play a key role in addressing this gap. This research and knowledge transfer network will be supported by a new Einstein Center working on climate change that will also facilitate more intense collaborative work with leading international universities. Funding for a two-year preparation module for this center was approved by Einstein Foundation Berlin in November 2021.

Projects from the ECCC network

The model region Berlin-Brandenburg

Current climatic changes are creating complex challenges for both urban and rural regions. Weather extremes like heatwaves, droughts and heavy rain are already occurring more frequently in Berlin and Brandenburg and leaving their mark on the region. The coal exit and the structural change this has brought about in Lusatia (the coal region south of Berlin) represent a major undertaking for the wider region. What specific measures can be delivered in the near future to shape climate change mitigation and adaption in the region ecologically, socially, and economically?

Who & What

The research and science scene in Berlin and Brandenburg is ideally positioned to embark on a systematic interdisciplinary and transdisciplinary analysis of climate change.
In CCC, the Climate Change Center, a joint initiative has now emerged to mobilize the vast knowledge and wide-ranging solution-oriented expertise of participating institutions.

Expertise

The Climate Change Center pursues an integrated and solution-oriented approach to transformation research with innovation as the central cross-cutting theme.

The four major competence fields —Society, Technology, Nature, Urban and Rural— serve to combine the research expertise of the participating institutions effectively. Researchers in Berlin and Brandenburg have developed a solutions triangle in a multi-step collaborative process to facilitate future interdisciplinary and transdisciplinary research.

For further information please click on the respective solution field.

Einstein Center Climate Change

Initial interdisciplinary research projects are already being realized during the two-year preparation phase leading up to the establishment of the Einstein Center Climate Change and Public Policy of Human Settlement (ECCC). This work is flanked by transdisciplinary discourse and events in formats such as stakeholder dialogues.

NEWS and Projects from the ECCC network

Get involved!

Hidden - 1 Tab versteckt

Funding

Einstein Foundation Berlin

Pilot projects will be developed at the levels of climate governance, transformation pathways, and tools for the areas of construction and transportation in the Berlin-Brandenburg metropolitan region in 2022/2023 with funding from Einstein Foundation Berlin. The objective here will be to harness existing strengths in the fields of big data and artificial intelligence for innovative climate research and to draw on the power of experimental approaches in design, psychology and art to advance processes of technological and social transformation.

The State of Berlin

The Climate Change Center Berlin Brandenburg was supported in 2021 by funding from the Berlin Quality and Innovation Offensive (QIO) via the Berlin Senate Department for Higher Education and Research. It will be supported by funds from the Senate Department responsible for research in 2022/2023. Berlin’s state government has pledged the necessary funds for establishing the Climate Change Center Berlin Brandenburg in its current coalition agreement.

Berlin University Alliance

1 November 2019 saw the start of the Berlin University Alliance of Excellence made up of FU Berlin, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, TU Berlin and Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin. It is supporting the initial phase of the CCC with project funding, public relations work and marketing.

Transdisciplinary experts database

In spring 2022, we intend to launch the beta phase of an open-access database that sets out to enhance the visibility of and foster closer networking between experts from research, civil society, politics, business, and the arts on the topics of climate change, climate mitigation and climate adaptation in the Berlin-Brandenburg metropolitan region. The first step toward this database involves registering research partners and people in participating institutions. The database will be publicly available for searches.

Would you like to discover more about our initiative by keeping up to date? Register here!

Contact

Prof. Dr. Sophia Becker
Vice President for Sustainability, Internal Communication, Transfer, and Transdisciplinarity
Representative of the speaker university of the Climate Change Center Berlin Brandenburg
T +49 (0)30 314-24286
M vp-nt@tu-berlin.de

Prof. Dr. Felix Creutzig
Head of the Department of Sustainability Economics, TU Berlin
Research Coordinator Climate Change Center Berlin Brandenburg
M creutzig@mcc-berlin.net

Michael Wilmes
Head of strategic projects
T +49 (0)30 314-22131
M michael.wilmes@tu-berlin.de

Dr. Anita Dame
CCC-Office, TU Berlin
Managing Director
T +49 (0)30 314-22394
M anita.dame@tu-berlin.de

Katja Lehmann
CCC-Office, TU Berlin
Coordination of Human Resources and Finances
T +49 (0)30 314-70980
M katja.lehmann@tu-berlin.de

Martina Orth
CCC-Office, TU Berlin
Speaker Einstein Center Climate Change (planned)
T +49 172 714 12 44
M martina.orth@tu-berlin.de

Berit Petzsch
CCC-Office, TU Berlin
Project Management & Communication
T +49 (0)30 314-73904
M berit.petzsch@tu-berlin.de

Beteiligen Sie sich



Beteiligen Sie sich



Warum

Wer & Was

Expertise
Einstein-Zentrum Klimawandel

Presse / Kontakt

Team

Wir sind ein kompetenter wissenschaftlicher Partner in allen Fragen zum Klimaschutz und zur Anpassung an den Klimawandel.
→ Warum

Wir verbinden wissenschaftliche Expertise mit Innovationsdenken, um gemeinsam mit Politik, Wirtschaft und Zivilgesellschaft, Lösungen zu entwickeln.
→ Wer & Was

Wir forschen ganzheitlich zu den Themen Gesellschaft, Technologie, Natur, urbane und ländliche Räume.
→ Expertise

Aktuelles

Warum
Das Climate Change Center Berlin Brandenburg ist ein inter- und transdisziplinäres Zentrum für Forschung und Wissenstransfer. Gemeinsam mit Vertreter*innen aus Wissenschaft, Politik, Wirtschaft und Zivilgesellschaft arbeiten wir an Lösungen, um Berlin und Brandenburg klimaneutral zu machen und an die Folgen der Klimakrise anzupassen.

Klimaforschung neu denken – mit Wissenstransfer und Perspektivwechsel

Die Gefahren des Überschreitens planetarer Grenzen werden seit Jahrzehnten wissenschaftlich untersucht. Was jedoch fehlt, sind umfassende Forschungen, Wissenstransfer und Innovationen, um für gesamtgesellschaftliche und globale Herausforderungen systematische Lösungen auf regionaler Ebene zu erarbeiten und bereitzustellen. Das Climate Change Center Berlin Brandenburg will hier eine Schlüsselrolle einnehmen. Unterstützt wird es dabei von einem Rat aus Expert*innen, der sich aus hochrangigen Vertreter*innen aus der Zivilgesellschaft, Politik und Verwaltung, Wirtschaft und Industrie sowie aus dem Bereich Kunst, Kultur und Medien zusammensetzt. Zielgerichtet und bedarfsorientiert soll Wissenschaft und Forschung so für die Metropolregion Berlin-Brandenburg ausgerichtet werden.
Geförderte CCC-Projekte (Auswahl)

Die Modellregion Berlin-Brandenburg

Aktuelle Klimaveränderungen stellen sowohl urbane als auch ländliche Regionen vor komplexe Herausforderungen. Hitzewellen, Trockenperioden und Starkregen sind Witterungsextreme, die bereits heute in Berlin und Brandenburg auftreten und ihre Spuren hinterlassen. Der Strukturwandel in der Lausitz und der damit verbundene Kohleausstieg ist ein Großprojekt in der Region. Doch welche konkreten Maßnahmen können dazu beitragen, Klimaschutz und Klimaanpassungen ökologisch, sozialverträglich und wirtschaftlich zu gestalten und kurzfristig umzusetzen?

Wer & Was

Die Wissenschafts- und Forschungslandschaft in Berlin und Brandenburg ist bestens für eine systematische, inter- und transdisziplinäre Analyse der Klimakrise aufgestellt.
Das CCC hat sich in einer Gemeinschaftsinitiative zusammengeschlossen, um ihre umfangreiche Expertise und vielfältigen Lösungskompetenzen zu mobilisieren.

Expertise

Das CCC verfolgt einen ganzheitlichen und lösungsorientierten Ansatz in der Transformationsforschung. Innovation ist dabei das zentrale Querschnittsthema.

Die vier großen Kompetenzfelder – Society, Technology, Nature, Urban and Rural – bündeln die wissenschaftliche Expertise der beteiligten Institutionen. Berliner und Brandenburger Wissenschaftler*innen haben das „solution triangle“ in einem mehrstufigen Prozess gemeinsam entwickelt, um zukünftig sowohl inter- als auch transdisziplinär zu forschen.

Für weitere Informationen klicken Sie bitte auf das jeweilige Lösungsfeld.

Einstein-Zentrum Klimawandel

In der zweijährigen Vorbereitungsphase für ein Einstein Center Climate Change and Public Policy of Human Settlement (ECCC) werden erste interdisziplinäre Forschungsprojekte realisiert. Transdisziplinäre Diskurse und Formate wie Stakeholder-Dialoge begleiten diese.

Aktuelles aus dem ECCC
EXECUTIVE BOARD EINSTEIN CENTER CLIMATE CHANGE AND PUBLIC POLICY OF HUMAN SETTLEMENTS

Beteiligen Sie sich!

Hidden - 1 Tab versteckt

Förderungen

Einstein Stiftung Berlin
Mit der Förderung durch die Einstein Stiftung Berlin werden 2022/2023 Pilotprojekte auf den Ebenen Klima-Governance, Transformationspfade und Werkzeuge in den Bereichen Bauen und Verkehr in der Metropolregion Berlin-Brandenburg entwickelt. Dabei möchte man insbesondere Standortstärken in den Bereichen Big Data und Künstliche Intelligenz innovativ für die Klimaforschung nutzen wie auch experimentelle Ansätze von Design, Psychologie und Kunst für technologische und gesellschaftliche Transformationsprozesse erschließen.

Land Berlin
Das Climate Change Center Berlin Brandenburg wurde 2021 aus Mitteln der Berliner Qualitäts- und Innovationsoffensive (QIO) über die Senatskanzlei für Wissenschaft und Forschung gefördert. In 2022/2023 wird das CCC aus Mitteln der für Wissenschaft zuständigen Senatsverwaltung unterstützt. Die Berliner Landesregierung hat in ihrem aktuellen Koalitionsvertrag die notwendigen Mittel für den Aufbau des Climate Change Center Berlin Brandenburg zugesichert.

Berlin University Alliance
Am 1. November 2019 startete der Exzellenzverbund Berlin University Alliance von Freie Universität Berlin, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, Technische Universität Berlin und Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin. Sie unterstützt das CCC in seiner Initialphase im Bereich Projektförderung, Öffentlichkeitsarbeit und Marketing.

Transdisziplinäre Expert*innen-Datenbank

Um Expert*innen aus Wissenschaft, Zivilgesellschaft, Politik, Wirtschaft und Kunst zu den Themen Klimawandel, Klimaschutz und Klimaanpassung in der Metropolregion Berlin-Brandenburg stärker zu vernetzen und sichtbar zu machen, wollen wir im Frühjahr 2023 die Beta-Phase für eine Open-Access-Datenbank starten. Registrieren können sich in einem ersten Schritt Personen der beteiligten Institutionen und Partner*innen aus der Wissenschaft. Die Datenbank wird für Recherchen öffentlich zugänglich sein.

Sie wollen über Neuigkeiten informiert werden? Dann tragen Sie bitte hier Ihre E-Mail Adresse ein

Kontakt

LEITUNGSEBENE UND WISSENSCHAFTLICHE KOORDINATION CLIMATE CHANGE CENTER BERLIN BRANDENBURG

Prof. Dr. Sophia Becker
Vizepräsidenten für Nachhaltigkeit, interne Kommunikation,
Transfer und Transdisziplinarität, TU Berlin

Vertreterin der Sprecherhochschule des Climate Change Center Berlin Brandenburg
T +49 (0)30 314-24286
M vp-nt@tu-berlin.de

Prof. Dr. Christian Thomsen
Leitung des Expert*innen-Rats des Climate Change Center Berlin Brandenburg
M christian.thomsen@tu-berlin.de

Prof. Dr. Felix Creutzig
Leiter des Fachgebiets Nachhaltigkeitsökonomie, TU Berlin
Wissenschaftlicher Koordinator des Climate Change Center Berlin Brandenburg
M creutzig@mcc-berlin.net

GESCHÄFTSSTELLE CLIMATE CHANGE CENTER BERLIN BRANDENBURG

Dr. Anita Dame
CCC-Geschäftsstelle, TU Berlin
Geschäftsführerin
T +49 (0)30 314-22394
M anita.dame@tu-berlin.de

Berit Petzsch
CCC-Geschäftsstelle, TU Berlin
Referentin Projektmanagement & Kommunikation
T +49 (0)30 314-73904
M berit.petzsch@tu-berlin.de

Charmaine Reith
CCC-Geschäftsstelle, TU Berlin
Referentin Projektmanagement
T +49 (0)30 447202 80
M reith@tu-berlin.de

Martina Orth
CCC-Geschäftsstelle, TU Berlin
Referentin Einstein Center Climate Change (in Planung)
T +49 172 714 12 44
M martina.orth@tu-berlin.de

Katja Lehmann
CCC-Geschäftsstelle, TU Berlin
Projektkoordination Personal & Finanzen
T +49 (0)30 314-70980
M katja.lehmann@tu-berlin.de

Birgit Holthaus
CCC-Geschäftsstelle, TU Berlin
Referentin für Wissenschafts- und Klimakommunikation
T +49 (0)30 314-29502
M birgit.holthaus@tu-berlin.de

Michael Wilmes
Leitung strategischer Projekte / EICCC Bezug im TUB-Präsidialamt
T +49 (0)30 314-22131
M michael.wilmes@tu-berlin.de